B.A., 1960; M.A., 1967

Jody Deering Nyquist is Associate Dean Emerita of the UW Graduate School and an emerita member of the graduate faculty of the UW Department of Communication. She was the University’s Director of the Center for Instructional Development and Research from 1984 to 2000. Both her undergraduate and graduate work were completed at the University where she has been a faculty member since 1969. In the Department of Communication, Nyquist taught undergraduate and graduate courses in interpersonal and instructional communication, interviewing, small group facilitation, public speaking, and media. Principal for many grants, her two major ones were from The Pew Charitable Trusts and the Spencer Foundation.

In addition to over 70 articles and book chapters, she has edited six books and co-authored “Working Effectively with Graduate Assistants and Re-envisioning the Ph.D.: What Concerns Do We Have?” Nyquist has received numerous awards for her work in her discipline and in higher education from the UW and from national and international organizations. She was president of the Western States Communication Association in 1984 and later received its highest award, the Distinguished Service Award. In 1992, she served as a Fulbright Senior Scholar in New Zealand. In 1996, she was awarded the prestigious Robert J. Kibler Award from the National Communication Association. In 2002, Nyquist received the Samuel L. Becker Award, the highest award given for scholarship, teaching, and service by the National Communication Association. Nyquist has served on boards for over 50 universities, organizations, independent schools, and nonprofit agencies. She has served on the editorial boards of nine journals and as an outside reviewer for ten universities. She has lectured at over 20 universities in the United States, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia and Japan. She was Visiting Professor at Nagoya University, Nagoya Japan from September 5 to December 5, 2008. In 2005, Nyquist was inducted into the inaugural class of the Department of Communication’s Hall of Fame, and this year she was selected the Department’s Distinguished Alumna of 2014.